Governor Little Announces K-12 Task Force

Governor Brad Little announced the members of his new “Our Kids, Idaho’s Future” Task Force on May 15.

The list includes Jennifer Parkins of the Genesee Joint School District.

The group will put together a five-year plan to establish priorities for and improve Idaho’s K-12 public education system.


(State of Idaho photo)

“The ‘Our Kids, Idaho’s Future’ Task Force will adopt a broad-based, collaborative process to examine our public education system, with an emphasis on improving student achievement and accountability to parents and taxpayers,” Governor Little said.

Task Force members:


Teachers, School Administrators, and Education Stakeholders

  • Debbie Critchfield, President, Idaho State Board of Education — Co-Chair
  • Sherri Ybarra, Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Marc Beitia, American Falls High School teacher and 2019 Idaho Teacher of the Year
  • Kari Overall, President, Idaho Education Association
  • Jennifer Parkins, Board Chair, Genesee Joint School District and Idaho School Boards Association President
  • Jody Hendrickx, Trustee, St. Maries School District and ISBA Vice President
  • Erin McCandless, Idaho State PTA President
  • Mary Ann Ranells, Superintendent, West Ada School District
  • Luke Schroeder, Superintendent, Kimberly School District
  • Cheryl Charlton, Superintendent, Idaho Digital Learning Academy
  • Pete Koehler, retired Chief Deputy Superintendent and former Nampa High School Principal and Superintendent
  • Terry Ryan, CEO, Bluum, Boise

Business Leaders

  • Bill Gilbert, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Caprock, Boise — Co-Chair
  • Kurt Liebich, CEO, RedBuilt, Boise
  • Matt Van Vleet, Government Affairs Director, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Lewiston
  • Katherine Hart, Associate General Counsel, Melaleuca, Idaho Falls
  • Juan Alvarez, Deputy Director for Management and Operations, INL, Idaho Falls
  • Shawn Keough, Executive Director, Associated Logging Contractors, Coeur d’Alene and former state senator and JFAC co-chair


  • Senator Chuck Winder, Majority Leader, Idaho Senate
  • Senator Dean Mortimer, Idaho Senate Education Committee
  • Senator Janie Ward-Engelking, Idaho Senate Education Committee and Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee
  • Representative Mat Erpelding, Minority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
  • Representative Jason Monks, Assistant Majority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
  • Representative Lance Clow, Idaho House Education Committee
  • Representative Gary Marshall, Idaho House Education Committee
  • Representative Wendy Horman, Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee

Posted May 15, 2019


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s